O'Sullivan Road

05.23.11 Ishmael Beah

with 2 comments


Ishmael Beah.  Author of A Long Way Gone: memoirs of a boy soldier.

When I saw the lineup for the Moth show I was scheduled to shoot last Saturday night – which was in conjunction with Live at the NYPL‘s celebration of 100 years of the 42nd St. New York Public Library – I could not have been more elated.  Although the highlights were numerous, I have to say meeting Ishmael Beah was particularly special.  I read A long Way Gone when it was first published in 2007.  Ishmael’s story was illuminating, shocking and touching.  In hindsight, I can see that reading his memoir contributed to my decision to pursue a degree in African and African American Studies, and in my decision to  spend this upcoming summer in Africa.

Written by Sarah Stacke

May 23, 2011 at 10:19 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Sarah, Another book of yours that I would like to read. What a thrill to photograph Ishmael Beah when his book had such a profound effect on you. I really like this picture, too. Love, Mom

    Mary Stacke

    May 25, 2011 at 7:56 pm


Leave a Reply

